Cricket Award for St Philip’s

By Fiona Wilkins - November 3rd, 2023 | Posted in Article

St Philip’s School is delighted to have been awarded the Don Rowan Cricket Award for the fourth time at the Cricket Society Awards held at the Oval cricket ground over the half term break.

The Don Rowan Award is awarded to the “School/College judged outstanding in using cricket in its programme for children with special needs. The winning School/College embodies the love, enthusiasm and commitment to cricket that is at the heart of The Game.”

St Philip’s School was nominated for the award by Surrey County Cricket Club for their contribution towards cricket.  Cricket is very much on the PE curriculum at St Philip’s and Surrey coaches work closely with the teaching team to offer a weekly after school club.  Several St Philip’s students and former students have gone on to play for Surrey disability cricket team as well as several local league sides.

Three members of staff, Jacob Walker (apprentice learning support assistant), Roger White (Assistant Headteacher and Head of PE) and Ben Walsh (Principal of St Philip’s), attended an awards ceremony at The Oval cricket ground on Friday 27th October. They were delighted to accept the award on behalf of everyone at the school.

The award was presented by John Barclay, President of the Cricket Society.  Roger, Jacob and Ben all answered questions in front of a large audience at the Oval which included former England and Surrey cricketer, Micky Stewart.

Roger spoke about his passion for introducing young people to sport and seeing them develop while Jacob said his love of cricket started at primary school.  Jacob had the audience captivated as he talked about his transition from St Philip’s pupil to member of staff.  Ben expressed his pride at seeing the likes of Jacob and others find their passion and develop into confident and well-rounded young adults.

The Cricket Society Awards is an annual event held to celebrate the sport and this is the fourth time St Philip’s has won this award. The school joins other settings in the Trust including Carew Academy and Orchard Hill College who have also been recipients in the past.